Welcome! 

Where classical school and homeschool teachers talk.

Discussion Starts Here.

For the Children's Sake.

Learn from Others.

Add Your Voice to the Conversation.

Glad You Are Here.

Give Us Your Question.

Donald Hess

Help wanted: Classical approach to high school level human anatomy

I am a retired physician who is planning on teaching a new, high school level course on human anatomy & physiology at a homeschool co-op. I'd like to connect with someone who teaches human A&P in a classical setting primarily to learn what materials they use for the basic content and how they integrate the subject with other disciplines. Thank you for your suggestions.
Edited by Donald Hess

On 12/4/2018 at 4:20 PM, Donald Hess said:
I am a retired physician who is planning on teaching a new, high school level course on human anatomy & physiology at a homeschool co-op. I'd like to connect with someone who teaches human A&P in a classical setting primarily to learn what materials they use for the basic content and how they integrate the subject with other disciplines. Thank you for your suggestions.

Dr. Donald, you may be interested in two Christian curriculums I found fascinating. This one is Biology, but I love Dr. Wise's approach. He sees all of science as a reflection of God so he doesn't start with the cell and work up to the animal, he starts with the macro and how it points to a creator and then works towards the micro. He says it is better to go from the known to the unknown or the familiar to the unfamiliar. https://compassclassroom.com/?s=biology 

This DVD series is with Dr. David Menton, https://www.christianbook.com/body-of-evidence-8/pd/301370?event=EBRN  and it is anatomy and physiology. 

I think this is so wonder that you are offering to teach this class! I wish you lived near Shreveport! Thank you so much for giving of your time in this way!