Welcome! 

Where classical school and homeschool teachers talk.

Discussion Starts Here.

For the Children's Sake.

Learn from Others.

Add Your Voice to the Conversation.

Glad You Are Here.

Give Us Your Question.

Carrie Finch was a former public school teacher–but homeschooling parents come from every kind of background. What is your background and how do you see it serving and helping you as a homeschooling parent? In what ways might your background be a hindrance as well?

My background is in Communications Studies and English. My education has given me the backbone of knowledge I needed to be a confident teacher. Honestly, for many years I regretted attending college (mostly due to the monthly student loan payments!) I now appreciate the time I took because I use that knowledge and those skills daily to teach my children. 

I was a public school teacher. I taught first grade in the US but was very blessed to do my teacher training in New Zealand. Being in NZ definitely influenced my teaching as a teacher and my dissatisfaction with education in the US. As soon as I had my first child, I just could not imagine entrusting someone else with her education.

I went to a liberal arts college and minored in English. I’m so grateful I attended a liberal arts school and took so many literature courses! I truly gained a passion for Shakespeare and a good overarching view of British Literature I had not had before, but a love for reading the classics did not come till now really. I always have loved the classics but did not prioritize reading. I think my experiences trained me to DO and not necessarily LEARN, much less ENJOY my learning.